Bloomington-Normal ACT-SO


ACT-SO is an acronym for Academic, Cultural, Technological Scientific Olympics. ACT-SO is a yearlong enrichment program designed to recruit, stimulate, improve and encourage high academic and cultural achievement among African American high school students. The ACT-SO program centers around the dedication and commitment of community volunteers and business leaders; to serve as mentors and coaches to promote academic and artistic excellence among African-American students. There are 29 categories of competition in the areas of STEM, humanities, performing arts, visual arts, business, and culinary arts.

2019 ACT-SO Gold Medalists


2019 ACT-SO Medalists


Gold Medalists:

Jackie Alzebdieh – BHS – Poetry Written

Jess Bynum – NCHS – Filmmaking

Yasimine Hamilton – BHS – Dance

Alexander Phillips – BHS – Oratory

Aniya Thompson – NCHS – Music Vocal Contemporary

Silver Medalists:

Rozilyn Alzebdieh – BHS – Drawing, Painting, and Sculpture

Bronze Medalists:

Keajia Hardin – NCHS – Culinary Arts: Acting

Alexander Phillips – BHS – Dramatic Arts: Acting

Aniya Thompson – NCHS – Dramatics

Quick Contact